What Happens When You Block Someone on WhatsApp
It can be said, without any doubt, that WhatsApp is extremely helpful and marvelous creation. It is the holy grail of instant messaging apps. But at times, it can get annoying too. For instance, when brands start spamming you with their promotions or a person sends useless messages.
Block On Whatsapp F6Block On Whatsapp F6
In such situations, it’s better to mute such contacts. However, sometimes muting a contact isn’t sufficient. If that’s the case, you can go a step ahead and block the contact, as blocking someone is different from mute in many ways.
To keep things private, WhatsApp doesn’t make it apparent that one has been blocked. Hence, the blocked person can still see the typing box and send a message, but the messages won’t be delivered to you.
Block On Whatsapp 3Block On Whatsapp 3
When you block someone, you also lose the ability to contact them on WhatsApp. And if you want to send them a message, WhatsApp will notify that you need to unblock the person first.
Block On Whatsapp 5Block On Whatsapp 5Retrieve and View Blocked Messages
After unblocking a contact, the messages received during the time the account was blocked won’t show up on your phone. There is no way to retrieve such messages.
To recap, WhatsApp offers three types of ticks or check marks to show message receipt. A single grey tick indicates that the message was sent, double grey tick means the message was delivered, and the deadly blue ticks mean the message was read.
When a blocked person messages you, that person will see single grey ticks as the message isn’t delivered to you.
Block On Whatsapp 7Block On Whatsapp 7Call or No Call
Again, the blocked person can still call your WhatsApp number (they will hear the call ringing), but WhatsApp won't notify you about it. That is, there will be no incoming call on your side. Similarly, you can’t call a blocked contact until you unblock them.
Block On Whatsapp 6Block On Whatsapp 6
Note: The blocked contact on WhatsApp can still get in touch with you outside of WhatsApp.